The four-year term of the second Petroleum Authority of Uganda (PAU) Board of Directors has concluded, marking the end of their tenure steering the Authority mandated with overseeing the regulation and monitoring of Uganda’s petroleum sector. Chaired by Dr. Jane N. Mulemwa, the seven-member board committee was appointed on May 20, 2020, and today presented its end-of-term report to Hon. Okaasai Sidronius Opolot, the state minister for Energy, during a handover ceremony at the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development headquarters at Amber House, Kampala.

The outgoing board members include Ms. Doreen Kabasindi, who served on both the inaugural and second boards, Mr. Benard Ongodia, Ms. Kevin Aanyu, Mr. Innocent Kihika, Mr. Aldrian Bukenya, and Ms. Lynda Biribonwa. Except for Dr. Mulemwa and Ms. Kabasindi, who have completed two terms as stipulated by law, the remaining members are eligible for reappointment.

In her handover speech, Dr. Mulemwa praised the exceptional support from the political leadership and President Yoweri Museveni, expressing gratitude for the opportunity to serve in Uganda’s nascent oil and gas industry. She urged the Minister to consider reappointing board members who have served only one term to ensure continuity and preserve institutional memory.

Hon. Okaasai commended the board members for their outstanding work over the past four years, highlighting their adherence to the Authority’s mandate as defined by law.


For more information contact:

Ms Gloria Sebikari – Manager Corporate Affairs.